Books

Reading, Always Reading…

I have just finished reading Virginia Woolf’s Mrs. Dalloway. What an amazing piece. My favorite quote is as follows:

“Then (she had felt it only this morning) there was the terror; the overwhelming incapacity, one’s parents giving it into one’s hands, this life, to be lived to the end. to be walked with serenity; there was in the depths of her heart an awful fear. Even now, quite often if Richard had not been there reading The Times, so that she could crouch like a bird and gradually revive, send roaring up that immeasurable delight, rubbing stick to stick, one thing with another, she must have perished. She had escaped. But that young man had killed himself.”


I’ve also recently finished a biography of Sarah Bernhardt called Madame Sarah by Cornelia Otis Skinner. It was one of the gems I found on the dollar rack at the local antique store. She was quite the character! And just the time period I love reading about, turn of the century. Interestingly, I can across this tumblr:

http://turnofthecentury.tumblr.com/

If you go on long enough, you’ll find a picture of Sarah. She was apparently quite ubiquitous at the time.

I’m also finishing up Jude the Obscure by Thomas Hardy. I was a fan of Tess of D’Urbervilles and this one is just as good. My favorite quote so far is:

“As you got older, and felt yourself to be at the centre of your time, and not at a point in its circumference, as you had felt when you were little, you were seized with a sort of shuddering, he perceived. All around you there seemed to be something glaring, garish, rattling, and the noises and glares hit upon the little cell called your life, and shook it and scorched it. If only he could prevent himself from growing up.”

There. Now perhaps I have told you too much about myself.

One more thing, before I go. I don’t know if you have troubled yourself to make it though Joyce’s Ulysses yet, but if not there is an amazing website, http://www.ulyssesseen.com/ to help you through. It’s great artwork and you should check it out even if you don’t care to ever read it.

I’d love to hear your experience of any of the above books. Or, just let me know what your into recently.

Standard

Leave a Reply

